2021 City/District Minimum Wage of All Provinces and Special Region in Sumatera and its Adjacent Islands

Sumatera (or its official name Sumatra) at 473,481 km2– not including the adjacent islands, is the third Indonesia’s largest island. The island and its adjacent islands is subdivided into ten provinces: Sumatera Utara (Sumut), Sumatera Barat (Sumbar), Sumatera Selatan (Sumsel),  Riau, Lampung, Bengkulu, Jambi, Nangroe Aceh Darusalam, Kepulauan Riau, Bangka Belitung. 

Sumatera population density is lesser than Jawa, with a total population of 57.940.351 (according to 2018 census). The principal cities in Sumatera are Medan, Palembang and Padang. Much of the population is rural with the highest population density is around Medan in Sumatera Utara.

Sumatera is rich in agriculture with two provinces ( Riau and Sumatera Utara) and one special region (Nangroe Aceh) listed in the top five richest provinces in Indonesia. The main products of the Island are palm oil, tobacco, petroleum, tin, bauxite, coal and natural gas.

Unlike in Jawa, district/city minimum wage is separately issued per district or city by Governors except of Sumatera Utara. As such, the number of Governor Decree amount to more than the total number of provinces and special region in Sumatera and the adjacent islands.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s